Day 22 and National Infertility Awareness Week!!

DAY 22:Β  How has your financial situation affected your infertility journey?

It hasn’t affected it in reality, but it scares me to death! We’re having a hard enough time building our nest egg, that I wonder how we’re going afford IVF if we get to that point. Since I’m a planner, I already have us saving for it, just in case. I’m lucky in that our health insurance will pay 50% of infertility testing and treatments, but the other half scares the S out of me! We started out with so many plans…buy our much larger 2nd home to raise our family in within 5 years, travel and save for college educations. How are we supposed to do that if we end up doing 3 rounds of IVF? And what if we have to adopt after that?!? Insurance won’t pay a dime of that! But one step at time. First step, meet with new RE on Monday and decide if IUI in the Fall is the next step. Or maybe my first step should be to breathe?! πŸ˜‰

NIAW:

I shared this picture on FB and now I’m sharing with you! I don’t know what I’m doing with it this week, but I’m going to visit RESOLVE’s website and explore. πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “Day 22 and National Infertility Awareness Week!!

  1. You are so lucky to have insurance that covers IF because ours is all out of pocket. In my latest meltdown with Matt I told him that you were supposed to spend the money once you had the kids not trying to have kids.

    • I know! Even though it only covers half, that’s a LOT!!! I completely agree with your statement. We might end up spending their college funds just to try to make them! WTF?! Hang in there!! I’m rooting for you!

    • Thanks. I really hope not either, but my new RE is all set for IUI next cycle. He said 2 IUIs and then he wants to go to IVF. Hubster isn’t quite ready for that yet, but we’ll see.

  2. Wonderful that you guys have IF awareness week in the US… wish we had one here… maybe one day πŸ™‚ The cost is astronomical !! Certainly adds to the stress 😦 Thinking of you xo

    • Yes, I am grateful for the effort to spread awareness about IF. It’s a very private journey, but it should also not be a taboo subject! Yes, the money does add to the stress and PRESSURE of IF. I appreciate your thoughts!

  3. Thanks for the lovely comment on my blog; and thanks for the tag in the Lovely Blog award. It’s all just lovely lovely lovely!! Hehehe. I’ll get onto responding to the tag πŸ™‚
    ICLW #46

      • You a drama queen?!?! Never, I tell you, wait until you see me in action ….

        I guess we have to stress a little bit about things that may come just so we can prepare.

  4. We have also been very lucky to not have to worry too much about money for infertility treatments until we got to the adoption/surrogacy route. I have wonderful insurance that covers in network IVF treatments up to a life time total of $50K(!!!) and pays 80% out of network. Of course, now that we are pursuing adoption and surrogacy that isn’t doing us as much good anymore. Still, I wish everyone had that good insurance!

    • wow!!! that’s amazing! it sucks you’re having to go the adoption/surrogacy route and pay all of it out of pocket, but think of all the money you saved before to be able to pay now! good luck!!! that route can be hard, but seems to work out so well for the people doing it!!!!

  5. It’s scary to think how much this costs and how little help most of us receive from insurance. Sounds like you’re doing a great job of taking things one step at a time!

Leave a Reply

