WLC Begins!!! (complete with updates!)

So far we have 4 participants (including myself) for our WLC.  I have committed to doing this for the next 6 weeks and we’ll see where we’re at then. 🙂 If you want to join, feel free to send me an email to dogmomchasingthestork@gmail.com at any time!

So here is how this is going to work:

1. The Challenge began today, September 14th with initial weigh-ins. Subsequent weigh-ins will occur every Friday until The Challenge ends on Friday, October 19th with the final weigh-in.

2. Everyone is welcome to participate and here’s how new challengers can join:

  • Email me your “before” photo(s). I will be posting these on my blog, so feel free to crop out your head if  you would like. Ideally I would like to have a front and a side photo.
  • Email me a link to your blog with a little blurb about who you are, your 6-week goal, and why you are participating. If you do not want me to link back to your blog or to use your name, mention that in the the email.
  • If there is any part of this (photo, blog link, blurb) that you wish to not include, that is fine. Just email me with a pseudonym. The only part that is required is weekly weigh-ins.

4. I will send out an email on Thursday nights and Friday mornings reminding everyone to weigh in and send me your weight for that day.

5. We’ll repeat this each and every Friday for the next 6 weeks. At the end, I will post after pictures, ending weights, and perhaps a little blurb about how each of you feels about her progress.

6. I will mail the winner something awesome at the end of the challenge. I have no idea what it will be…..but it will be worth it!

Here’s where we started a little less than 12 weeks ago:

Stork Chaser (that’s me!)

My weight loss journey is a difficult one for me. I am overweight, but not by that much. The most I have ever been overweight (thanks to lovely Clomid!) is by about 25lbs. I am half Asian and half White, but grew up only with my Asian side.  And since I’m almost 5’5” with a giant rack, I have always felt huge. I’m not really, I know.  But for an Asian person, I am.

When I was young I was a skinny little thing with long skinny legs and long skinny arms.  The skinny legs (thank god!!) have stuck, but the arms not so much.  But those skinny long legs and my heart’s ability to recover quickly allow me to run fairly easily. So I think that’s how I keep my weight from getting completely out of control.  My bouts of running also keep my legs in great shape all the time. But because I gain weight solely in my upper body, the whole picture is so not cute.  Even with my breast reduction (3 ½ cups sizes ladies!!!) over ten years ago, by chest has grown back a little bit (about ½- 1 full cup size, depending on my weight) and that makes me look heavier than I am.

I am an emotional eater and take great pleasure in really fattening foods and sugary desserts.  Put me on Clomid off and on for 10 months and let’s just say I am relieved I didn’t gain more than 4lbs!!!!

Hubster has joined me in trying to lose weight since he also loves the same types of fattening foods I do and does not enjoy cardio of any kind.  Since we met 4 years ago, he has put on 20lbs on top of the 10lbs he already needed to lose.  He also does all of the cooking (I know, I’m a very lucky girl since I don’t particularly like to cook) so having him on board has really helped. BUT I STILL NEED THIS CHALLENGE!

Jenn from The Future Fords

Hey there, I’m Jenn–the writer in this here corner of the internet known as The Future Fords. Back in February I had lost about 13 pounds and got down to a healthy 127, but since then I have done 3 cycles of Clomid, IUI, and progesterone which has caused me to gain about half of that back. I am now up to 135 and would love nothing more than to lose 10 pounds in the next five weeks. I plan on counting my calories using the MyFitnessPal app. If any of you are on there let me know and we can be buddies! I also plan to get up before work 3 days per week to go to the gym and also one day per weekend. I am scheduled for lap surgery next week so I know I will have to take it easy for a bit, but I plan to still watch what I eat and get back into the gym as soon as I am feeling up to it. I want to get my body both bikini and baby ready–I think 10 pounds lost is just the thing that I need. I decided to be super brave and post pictures of me in my new bathing suit (eeek!) since my short term goal is to look better in it. Perhaps decrease those love handles and increase the space between my thighs :)

 

Here’s what’s going on now:

Hello Ladies (and gentlemen???). I’m hopping over here from my little corner of the internet to continue participating in the weight loss challenge we started a few months ago. I already lost about 3 pounds, but I have about 8 more to lose to reach my goal. I am so hoping I can do that in the next 6 weeks. However, I now have an added challenge…I broke my foot which means no running or cardio of any kind for at least the next 8 weeks. I guess that leaves me with a combination of diet and walking on crutches. Which, by the way, is not easy! Good luck to everyone!

 

Sunny  from Cease and Decyst

My ovarian cysts are many. My stomach is jiggly. My arms are wiggly. I’m hoping that this exercise challenge will take care of at least two out of three of those problems. PCOS stinks, and it’s causing me a lot of excess weight in my mid section (a cruel joke to make me LOOK pregnant, without being able to properly ovulate. Awesome!) My goal in this 5 weeks is to lose the 8-10 pounds I’ve gained over the last two years, and to regain my strength/cardio endurance. I perform pretty well under pressure/competition, not so well when left to my own devices, so in this way, I hope that this challenge will help me stay on track with my exercise goals. I will be doing the Insanity DVD program 6 times per week.

Here’s what’s going on now:

See Sunny. See Sunny have PCOS. See PCOS wreak havoc on Sunny’s life. Not only is the PCOS preventing me from ovulating (ever), I also have manly elevated levels of testosterone coursing through my body due to the ovarian cysts. This testosterone (and a wedding, honeymoon, and overall poor eating habits) has caused me to gain nearly ten pounds in a year, mostly in my mid section. The scary thing is that I did the Insanity Workout for 8 weeks during the last Weight Loss Challenge, and actually ended up gaining weight. Sunny WILL NOT go down like that! I’m starting afresh, and hoping I might be able to drop 2-3 pounds during this challenge. My tactics this time around are: the Elimination Diet (no alcohol, wheat, sugar, caffeine, and no other fun stuff) and training for the Malibu Marathon in November. Bring it, women!

***Update****

Annabelle, from Infertility Sucks, has joined us!

Hi I’m Annabelle, I’m a school teacher and I am 27 years old. I’m married to my high school sweetheart and we are very happy together. I’ve wanted to be a mom ever since I can remember, I’ve always dreamed of having babies, and lots of them. My dreams were shattered when I was diagnosed with endometriosis at 17 and told I may not have any babies and that I would need to try before I turned 30. Fast forward many years to last April when my husband got diagnosed with Male Factor Infertility, my world was crushed and I became a mess. He had a varicocele and had it removed but we’re yet to see improvements. The RE has told us that IVF with ICSI is our only chance of conceiving (though we proved him wrong in December but sadly miscarried in January). For many years, I’ve lived my life one step ahead preparing for the what if’s of I’m pregnant and avoided many things in life but no longer. This summer is for ME! I’m taking back my life and going to enjoy doing things that I put on hold each cycle thinking, ‘what if I’m pregnant.” I realize there is no time for what if’s in life, you just have to live life to the fullest! Which brings me to why I’m doing this challenge, not only am I’m hoping my new weight and body will help with pregnancy some day, I’m doing it because it’s what I want and I know I will feel good about myself. My plan of action is to cut back on sugar and sweets, eat more healthy vegetables and fruit as well as more lean proteins. I’m going to attempt cutting back on gluten (some sensitivity issues) in hopes that I will feel better and help lose weight too. For exercise, I plan to continue and increase mountain biking and yoga plus introduce pilates and running into the mix. I’m more active now then I’ve ever been and I plan to increase that some more. I will be using my heart rate monitor to monitor my calories burned and will try to observe but not obsess over calories taken in. I am looking forward to seeing where I am in 5 weeks with my goals. Good luck to everyone and have fun!

Em, from Follow Every Rainbow, joined us 7 weeks ago.

Hi, I am Em, I recently realised I weighed 188lbs and I decided this was way too much for my 5′ 7″ frame. I have been working on diet and fitness for about four weeks now and I have already lost 8lbs, making me currently 180. I would like to get down to 154 eventually, but for now my five week goal is to loose at least a pound a week. So ideally I would like to weigh 175 in five weeks time. I am happy with how my diet is going but would like to up my exercise. I am using My Fitness Pal, if you are on it find me as EmHart80. Lets get it on!

And here we are today:

Week 1

(6/25/12)

Week 12

(9/14/12)

% Lost

Stork Chaser

151

147.6

-2.52

Jenn

136

133.5

-1.84

Sunny

126.5

131.2

+3.72

Annabelle

127.4

126.6

-0.63

Em

180 (7/23)

173

-3.89

Yah Em!!!!

I know the next 6 weeks will be rough for me (I’m back on Clomid for the first time since late-May!) so I’m glad to have you ladies working hard alongside me. 🙂

Also, please lmk if I’ve made any boo-boos along the way. Hubster keeps having to remind me how to figure out percentage lost (you’ll see my math skills at work when I debut on TV!) and I’m trying to get this up quickly (and discreetly since I’m at work!) and hope it’s all good!

One thought on “WLC Begins!!! (complete with updates!)

  1. Lol–I love how my goal is to get back down to the weight I was at at the LAST challenge. Good luck to everyone! I’m on 100mg of Clomid as of yesterday, so we’ll see how this goes. Dig deeper!

Leave a Reply

