4 weeks and 66 miles later…

Ugh. I’m starting my period and I’m getting a cold. Not what I thought I would be writing about at all today lol.

What I wanted to write about was my running accomplishments. In 4 weeks of training, I have run 66 miles. What the?!? Not bad right? 🙂

On Saturday, I ran 10 miles nonstop, with a 11:01 pace. Wooooot! This was my first 10 miles since training for a half-marathon 3 years ago.

I felt really good the first two miles. I was chatting with a friend nonstop (and jumping around and waving my hands because I have a very dramatic way of telling stories apparently!) and singing along to my music with the energy of a child! I felt really good! But at about 4 miles, I noticed my energy was fading and I kept wondering when my 5-mile turnaround was coming!! My breathing started to become labored and at about 4.8 miles I started my self-pep-talks. And knowing that I was fighting the mental game of running so early made me nervous!

But I kept at it and between mile 6 & 7, I started to feel my “high.” Ah. Finally. So you’ve all heard of a “runner’s high,” and probably dismissed it as the crazy-talk it really is. But, let me tell you, it’s the BEST! It’s not the same kind of high you get when you’re smoking or eating the good stuff, but it’s more of a “Superman” feeling. You feel like you’re invincible and you can do anything. You honestly feel like you could just run forever. Your legs don’t hurt, your breathing isn’t really heavy and everything seems right in the world. A fight with your spouse or loved one doesn’t matter. Work stress evaporates into thin air. Infertility doesn’t exist. You just feel good and powerful.

And getting that high with 3 miles left was exactly what I needed. My 23 year old friend was getting tired and about to walk but I told her we’re so close and not to give up. So we didn’t. We finished and boy did I hurt. The second I stopped running and started walking I instantly regretted everything. I regretted that I stopped running. I regretted running that far. And more importantly, I regretted being crazy enough to sign up for a marathon! But after walking about a mile and stretching on the grass, I felt good. No, I felt GREAT! I was a better runner than someone almost TEN YEARS YOUNGER than me!!!!! I was SO proud that stopping to walk for a little bit never entered my mind and that my pace, while slow, was faster than my goal of sub-11:15 min/mile.

I proudly showered, changed and ran off to Chinese New Year dinner with a much better outlook for this year of the Snake. The Snake is NOT a typically good year for the Chinese. I know, I know, it sounds silly, but the Chinese are a very superstitious bunch. And the Year of the Black Snake sounds kind of ominous doesn’t it? Well it just means that you will experience very high and very low emotions. I’m betting we’ll experience very HIGH emotions and this year will be much better than the Black Water Dragon was! And dinner to start off the new year was GREAT! Hubster and I laughed our asses off with my family and had SO much fun. Even though my legs were tired and sore.

I also did 90 minutes of Vinyasa yoga that morning so Sunday was not a good day for my body. 😉 Every single muscle was sore, tight and really tired. But Sunday morning with my family was another great time. We laughed and ate and laughed some more. Hubster and I also handed out traditional red envelopes with money inside to all of my younger cousins and received ours from my grandma and parents. (Read this Wiki entry for more info! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_New_Year)

Then we made plans to attend the matinee of a Shakespearian musical/comedy show called “A Midsummer’s Saturday Night Fever Dream” and then attend the “Grease” sing-a-long at the L.A. Bowl that same evening. UM I CAN’T CONTAIN MY EXCITEMENT PEOPLE!!! I cannot sing, but boy do I love too!!!! July cannot come quick enough!

Now to end with an update on my Ute:
CD1 is today so my hysteroscopy will be in about a week. Gotta call the doctor tomorrow to schedule.

Also, I’m going to include this next part with “Ute Updates” because it’s hormonal, but let’s talk about flatulence.

The last 3 months my ass has wreaked havoc on my house. Nonstop. I’m a farting machine and it’s foul odor rivals my dogs’!!!! All.the.time, people. My acupuncturist helped, but now that I’m starting my period it’s getting bad again. Why does my body hate me so bad?!?

10 thoughts on “4 weeks and 66 miles later…

  1. Good for you for pushing through! It hurts but it’s so worth it! This Year of the Black Snake is going to be good for you! 🙂

  2. You ROCK 66miles! i don’t think i have ever had an 11 min mile i am not at all a runner, though i enjoy sports very much and was even on school track but i ran the shortest distance and did shot put. Its good to see you in good spirits and enjoying the new year. Black snake could be your lucky snake i am betting on a better year for you too.

  3. Wow, congrats on getting the 10 miles in and at a great pace to boot!! I’m impressed as I think that longest I’ve ever run is maybe 4 miles!

    I was reading about the new year this weekend and feeling down that the year doesn’t bode all that well… but I’m hopeful it’ll be a drastic departure from the last few snake years and we’ll ALL be enjoying a good year!

  4. Ah! What an awesome run! I’m super proud of you, girl! I’m with Luna, totally jealous of the Singalong Grease! And finally – farts. I’m right there with you. In fact, our stinky anal gland cat is currently on my lap so it is like a double stench whammy. Delicious. :\

  5. I loved reading your running recap! Great job on running 10 miles in under your goal – what an accomplishment! I LOVE the running high and how it makes me feel like I can accomplish anything I put my mind to. Keep up the good work!

  6. Ive always had this image in my head of just running and not stopping,the way it would feel and the feeling of being total in a zone where nothing matters. Im not a runner, never have been and probably never will but this made me want to try again. I can feel all your positive energy coming through in your writing and I wish you a WONDERFUL,HAPPY New Year and hope that this year all your dreams come true.

Leave a Reply

