Our upcoming IVF nurse consult

Ok the time is almost here and I’m a freaking ball of nerves. Not to mention I’m PMSing. So, yeah, I’m going pretty crazy.

The consult is over the phone, but entails watching a video of the ivf procedure, reviewing lab results, planning my calendar, reviewing my protocol, getting prescriptions and asking any questions or discussing any concerns we may have.

Here are the questions I have so far:
1. What’s the minimum number of mature eggs they want to see retrieved?
2. If few are retrieved, will we try another fresh cycle right away?
3. How long can I run for while taking stims?
4. Who handles the embryos?
5. Do we get detailed printed instructions for the injections at our injections class?
6. ???
That’s all I can think of right now.
What else am I missing? 

Hubster doesn’t seem to get what this telephone appointment is for and I’m pissed at him again right now so I don’t feel like doing the normal spoon-feeding of information to him. Or asking if he has any questions. Maybe he’ll pull his head out of his ass before 11:00 a.m. and we can discuss this. If not, he loses his say and will have to contact the clinic himself with any questions he may have.

But I’m actually more excited now. Things will finally be moving after this appointment. I’ll have a better idea of my schedule for the next 2 months, I’ll have my prescriptions so I can start researching the cheapest pharmacy and did I mention I’ll have a calendar?!? Lol

I’m so nervous, everyone! But I’m really excited. I feel like this either way, we’re really on our way to building a family! So I’m remaining optimistic and positive. Not mention how helpful all of your support is!

23 thoughts on “Our upcoming IVF nurse consult

  1. Are you doing IVF with ISCI? Might be worthwhile to ask about that? I honestly found that the injection training videos totally helped. Don’t fret though! After a few days of stims, you are a pro.

  2. I guess this isn’t a question for the clinic but when we did IVF and I had to take so many meds/injections/pills/patches etc I found it extremely helpful to make my own calendar of how much I needed to take and on which day. It helped me keep a little sane and feel like I had some control over the situation. Good luck!!

  3. Maybe do they do 3, 5 or 6 day transfer and why. Also if they use assisted hatching if needed and what the fee is. Our place made us pay upfront $500 extra for an ICSI fee, which we didn’t need to use and we thought we were getting a refund. Then they said we didn’t get it because they used assisted hatching, which was $500 as well.

  4. I would also recommend ICSI. Yes you have to pay extra for it but you don’t want to have (and PAY for) the retrieval and then have no embryos to transfer if your husband’s sperm don’t fertilize your eggs.

    My clinic just had me watch the freedom pharmacy videos as well. They were very helpful!

  5. PAY FOR ICSI!!!!! They did some fancy SA on J and said we didn’t need it, so we didn’t do it the first round. Turns out my eggs aren’t up for being fertilized the old fashioned way. While it was worthwhile info to learn, if you’re paying out of pocket, you don’t want your cycle to be a really expensive diagnostic test. Good luck girl! You can do this!

  6. I read “spoon-feeding of information” to your husband and I had to tell you just how much I can relate to that. Mine is exactly the same way! He doesn’t understand the mechanics or timing of ovulation, no matter how many times I explain it. He doesn’t understand the difference between IUI and IVF (although one of the times I explained it to him, he immediately vetoed IVF because of cost, without even knowing how much it would cost). SO FRUSTRATING!!

    If I were farther along in the process, I would definitely let you know what else to ask, but as of right now, I don’t even know what all the protocol options are or what they mean. I’m trying to take things one step at a time and not get overwhelmed. Good luck!

  7. yeay!! Good luck. Those are GREAT questions.

    Every clinic is different but I found I was able to keep running for the first week and a bit. When my ovaries got heavy – you will know – I stopped so that they didn’t torque. I think the no running period was about 5-7 days but am hazy and of course your clinic will have tons more info 🙂

  8. The one question I would recommend asking is their policy on freezing embryos. My clinic will only freeze embryos that are ‘great quality’ (which is relative depending on how they grade) on day 6, meaning they need to live that long, which frankly I learned is tough, well, in my case anyway. Without writing you a book, this means that since my clinic will only freeze at day 6, many of my embryos died before such day, or weren’t great quality on day 6 and were therefore discarded. Other clinics might have transferred sooner and had success, but I didn’t have that option. Let me know if you have any questions, and good luck!

    • Oh wow! I am pretty sure I only want to transfer Day 5 embies, but I would def want to freeze at Day 3 any that are fair-great, which my clinic advertises they do online. I’ve also read that freezing sometimes improves quality so that’s crazy! But thanks for the tip. I will email and confirm their policy.

      • Yes, honestly I was fairly heartbroken when I found out my clinic discarded 5 day embryos there were fair quality. There is a lot of research out there that says they could have been successful transfers, so broke my heart they were discarded when they were still growing. I felt like my future children had been thrown away. I wish I would have asked more questions upfront, but at the time, I didn’t really know what to ask.

Leave a Reply

