Reflections Before Retrieval

Wow. I still can’t believe this is happening. I mean, I’m having a hard time even believing I’m currently in the middle of IVF and we’re about to go in for my egg retrieval! This whole experience has been a surreal whirlwind. I kind of always had a feeling we’d be here, but somehow it doesn’t really feel like we’re actually doing it. I guess I won’t believe we’re going super hi-tech until egg retrieval happens and *hopefully* see pics of embabies!

Speaking of, retrieval is TOMORROW! I got slotted for 11:45 a.m. which means two very long nights for us. Hubster gave me my trigger shot at exactly 11:45 p.m. last night and we went to sleep a little after midnight. I had plans to meet up with a sweet TTC sister from Instagram so I had to be up at 7:30 a.m. By the time I got back around 1 p.m., I was a wreck. My lower back was killing me and I was exhausted. So I ate my yummy cold cut combo from Subway (yes, I’m disgusting and LOVE bologna) and went straight to bed. After a 2-hr nap Hubster and I fought traffic so I could get another acupuncture appointment before retrieval and it felt so good. Well, the needles didn’t – most of them actually hurt, which the acupuncturist attributed to having so many hormones in my body – but my body felt such relief. The lower back pain is gone, the bloating has subsided some, my breasts aren’t as heavy and I’m feeling pretty peaceful. I Googled “IVF mantras” and came across a blog post that had a lot of positive mantras, not written for IVF, that really helped. I wish I had bookmarked that post.

Then we went to dinner and got nigiri, sashimi and rolls to eat. We decided today would be my last day to pig out on the foods I can’t eat if I get pregnant. Yes, I know restaurant sushi is all super frozen so it’s safe to eat, but I’m pretty sure we won’t be taking any risks with our $20+k kid. It was yummy. And I’m happy. Now we’re watching Chef while we kill time keeping me up late. I can’t eat or drink past midnight and I seriously starve if I don’t eat within 2 hours of waking, so I’m snacking and drinking water until midnight and sleeping in. I’m hoping by the time I get to the clinic at 10:45 a.m., I’ll be too distracted to be hungry or thirsty. Sounds like a good plan, right? If not, DON’T tell me! 🙂

Watching Chef with Hubster is adorable. It’s about this chef who opens a food truck and teaches his son how to cook and run a kitchen. My husband is a great cool who is very creative and interested in learning new recipes and techniques. I know one day he wants to teach our children and it’s neat watching this with him. I’m not sad anymore, I’m excited. It’s exciting to know that he’ll be a daddy one day – either very shortly or in the near future.

I think that’s why I’ve been so relaxed and happy during this cycle. I know that we’ll be parents sooner, rather than later. It’s refreshing that after almost 4 years, we are excited to go through infertility treatments. I still feel really good about this cycle, but know that if it doesn’t work, we have another fresh cycle already paid for. And if that doesn’t work, we’ll grieve bio kids and move on to adoption. We have a plan to become parents that we both agree on and while difficult, the end finally seems to be in sight.

So now, we just take one day procedure at a time. And I learn all of the tips/tricks to survive them, then share them with Hubster. Poor guy seems to get freaked out instead of informed, so I guess I’ll stop doing that lol. I sent him Belle’s tips for surviving egg retrieval and his response was, “that sounds terrifying.” Then I sent him her post about PIO shots since those start tomorrow and he responded the same way. I cracked up, but he was very serious. LOLOLOLOL! It’s still funny to me. 😉

So this is what we’re doing to prepare for our big day tomorrow. Watching an adorable movie, blogging and stuffing our faces. Tomorrow the plan is to finish my Subway sandwich when we return from the clinic (no, soggy sandwiches do not bother me), drink coconut water, take a laxative (senekot), drink some more coconut water and sleep. I imagine I’ll sleep through dinner due to my late start, but then I’ll snack on kettle corn, get some telecommuting in and sleep some more. I have no plans for Friday other than Netflix and telecommuting, as my body allows. Saturday will be more of the same, but I’d like to get out to the beach and read at some point, and have dinner plans with longtime family friends. Like so longtime, I used to parade around in the wife’s tiaras she won from the beauty pageants she entered when I was a small child. lol! I have two outfits planned for that dinner – one is for a mildly bloated Stokchaser, the other is for obscenely bloated Storkchaser. It involves fancy yoga leggings that are one size too big. They are the BEST pants I’ve ever bought. They can easily be dressed up – which is so weird since they are yoga pants. Skeptical? You tell me what you think:

yoga

On Friday and Saturday I will also be consuming lots of homemade smoothies with pomegranate juice, coconut water and berries. Also, I’m sure spinach and bananas will be added in there, since Hubster always adds those lol. Sunday will begin the pre-transfer diet that includes my smoothies, pineapple and brazil nuts.

So, I think we’re as ready as we’ll ever be! I’ll update you on retrieval, PIO and our fertilization report on Friday!

14 thoughts on “Reflections Before Retrieval

  1. I know exactly what you mean about it seeming so unreal that you’re finally in the moment of something you’ve waited so long for!! I’ve felt that a couple times, and it’s so hard to describe and so exciting and exhilarating! I wish you the best of luck over the past few days!!

  2. Good luck! I was loopy from the drugs after the retrieval but not super sore the next day. Crossing my fingers for lots of mature, fantastic-quality eggs!!

Leave a Reply

