Baby book suggestions please!

Since Baby can hear now, I am thinking about starting to read weekly her/him. Somewhere I came across a great list of baby books and think it was somewhere in the IF-world. It didn’t include the more mainstream ones so I need help!

Any ideas?

I’d like to use this as our first book tradition so something sweet and loving, obvs! I feel a little silly doing it, but with all the movement I feel now I’d like to continue this blissful state. I think this will help remind me to enjoy my pregnancy, instead of stressing about what if. Especially with a very early baby shower coming up. That’s a whole other story, but basically we’ll have a baby shower with our families on 7/25. You know, like 27 weeks pregnant? Just the usual.

Anyway, back to my (hopefully) happy place, reading to Baby.

Thanks for any ideas you can share!

22 thoughts on “Baby book suggestions please!

  1. Love You Forever by Robert Munch is the book I’ve read to my daughter every night since she was born. We don’t even need the book anymore, we can both quote every sentence ❤ best kids book ever

  2. When I was little I loved _Are You My Mother?_
    Bruce likes Dr. Seuss – I think he enjoys the rhythm of it and the primary colors. They are kind of fun to read out loud, so that would be good for reading to your little one 🙂
    Also, any poetry to nice to read out loud. A good friend gave us T.S. Eliot’s _Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats_. They actually made the musical Cats from those poems.
    My favorite book to read to Bruce is _God Gave Us You_ I know it’s not for everyone because it’s religious, but it is beautiful and I have yet to make it through this line without crying: “And then it was just us. Our family. We just stared and stared, wondering at the miracle of incredible you.” Tearing up just writing it 🙂

  3. Our favorite is I Love You More. One half of the book is mom telling the boy, then the other half is the boy telling the mom. Melts my heart! I read it to my daughter too 🙂

  4. ‘Guess how much I love you’ is such a lovely book. It made me cry every time. I think we just googled it rather than buying the book when she was in my tummy. Also I read from Danny the Champion of the world by Roald Dahl to our baby daughter from when she was born

  5. My favorite is “Goodnight Moon”. I just adore that book! I also love Dr. Suess because of the rhyming, lol. Books that make me laugh out loud are the Pigeon books and The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs. Also, Monster at the End of this Book is my other Favorite. 🙂 If you want to read a chapter a night type book, Charlotte’s Web all the way. 🙂

  6. These makes me cry: 10 little fingers and 10 little toes, you are my I love you, wherever you are my love will find you. I like the idea of revisiting chapter books now. Baby is just listening for rhythms and cadence in your speech now AND you have a captive audience!

Leave a Reply

