Anatomy scan

Well, the verdict is in. We have a BOY! I kind of knew it was going to be a boy, but kept choosing to believe we were having a girl. I mean, I was meant to have girls! Not boys! But it turns out, I’m going to have a son. So surreal on so many levels.

image

It took me several hours, but I’m excited. Not about the “boy” part, but about my child. I was already bonded to this baby that kicks and punches and rolls and flips inside of me all day. It was amazing to see all of his little parts and to receive validation that this child is indeed big and may very well swallow up his mama.

This baby is measuring TEN days ahead! What. Maybe that’s why I’m so huge and my pelvis is breaking!

image

People, I’m a 36DD right now, but my boobs look tiny against this giant bump! Most people give me this horrified look when I tell them how far along, or rather how not far along, I am. And this is why. Because my giant baby has my long limbs, daddy’s huge head and already weighs over a pound. Makes me feel much better about my 10lbs weight gain!

So that’s all for now. I’m still trying to wrap my head around all the news we got. We won’t know if everything is normal for a few more days. And in the meantime, I’m exhausting every channel possible to continue seeing my OB, since he’s staying in town and opening a new practice with another doctor. If not, he helped me decide on 2 possible OBs within my provider network.

29 thoughts on “Anatomy scan

  1. Woohoo! I too was convinced that I was having a girl with my first (or at least that is what I thought I wanted). I love my boy! And he enjoys doing arts and crafts and baking with me as much as I hoped a girl would. šŸ™‚ Enjoy! It’s so exciting to be having a baby.

  2. You look adorable! And if it makes you feel better, I’ve gained over 25 lbs and I’m only at week 22. Well, look on the bright side….now you can still use your favorite girl name in the future since they won’t be the same age now. šŸ˜‰

  3. Congratulations! I think before long, you will embrace having a boy. I had a daycare full of 8 boys and I sincerely miss it. I think they are sooooo much easier than girls! And I love the bump…you are carrying it very well!

  4. Congratulations!!! I plan to write a post soon about all my mixed feelings about having a boy, but now that the initial shock (and terror) has passed and I’ve started shopping for all things boy, I’m feeling so excited. This little guy is MINE. He was chosen for me and he belongs to me and that is just an incredible thought! (Everyone also tells me that a relationship between a mother and a son is something really special, not like anything else, but you and I can discuss if this is really true in a few years’ time!)

    And about the “big” baby….my last little one (Skittle) was always consistently measuring ahead by at least a week (even in the very early ultrasounds). The good news is, that she “only” weighed 8lbs 13oz at birth (a week overdue) — big, but not enormous. Not a 10-pounder like I was when I was born! šŸ˜‰ And early in my pregnancy, I did look huge and much farther along than I really was, but by my third trimester, it all evened out and I started having people tell me that I didn’t look big enough. (Sigh. You can’t please everyone, eh?) But regardless, you look FABULOUS and should wear that belly proudly, mama! So, so very happy for you!!!

    • Haha thank you friend! I needed to read all of this. And, yes, another post sorting out my feelings will def be coming. I’m starting to feel better about having a boy, just not excited. We’ll see what happens, like you said.

Leave a Reply

