Pregnancy insomnia

Um isn’t it too early for this? At 33 weeks it is happening more frequently.

I’ve been laying in bed trying to sleep for over an hour and nothing. I’m so tired, but my mind keeps racing. I’m usually really good at quieting my mind, but not anymore.

So, hi, everyone!

Let’s see…oh I guess I should show you some pics of the nursery before our baby shower next weekend. We actually have Hubster’s work shower on Friday also, so lots of goodies will be making their way into our house!

image

It’s kind of a mismatched nursery at the moment, but I’m hoping the crib bedding and painting Hubster’s brother does for it will tie it all together! Also we’re converting our family room into a childproof playroom so half the stuff on the floor of the closet will be gone when that happens. Hopefully, the playroom will be completed the weekend of the 19th!

I’m slowly finishing up gathering stuff on my hospital bag packing list and will be ready to pack the weekend of the 19th. That’s the weekend I also have marked to put a waterproof mattress cover on my bed and put a towel down on my seat in the car, just in case my water breaks and gushes while I’m in either location. I also want the car seat bases installed in both cars. I know I’ll probably be one of the unlucky women who go into labor past my due date, but I also know several people who have gone into labor at 36 weeks so I want everything prepped at 35, just in case.

I’ll share my lists in the coming days to get your input, but for now, I think I’m going to try to sleep again. I’m actually getting sleepy!

14 thoughts on “Pregnancy insomnia

  1. Such a cute nursery! I love it! I can’t recall if I had insomnia, I’m sure I did but my memory is poop these days. I do however remember putting a waterproof mattress pad down like you plan on doing. What a great idea, but I took mine off after it was there for only two days. It made me SO hot! I already had the air down to Arctic temps and a box fan blowing on me. I would wake up drenched in sweat, the mattress pad had to go! Lol. So I hope you have better luck with that than I did. 🙂

    • Haha! Yes, I’m looking for a cool one because I’m also a furnace at night. My hubby is always asking, “aren’t you cold?!?” because he is snuggling deep into our quilt and I have a sheet draped half over my body. And I usually run cold.

  2. Wow, I know you feel like it’s too early for insomnia, but I have it my entire pregnancy (although I did have a short respite during the second tri). For every pregnancy, it’s actually been my first symptom.
    So excited for your little nursery. I would just go and sit in bub’s and read books and cry when I was pregnant. It’s just such a happy thing.

  3. I always struggle with insomnia throughout my pregnancies. So annoying! But when you’re wide awake in the night, you can think of me and know you’re not alone. 😉

    How exciting that your baby shower is just around the corner. You’re getting close, girl! Won’t be long at all and that sweet little man will be here. xo

    • Ok, good to know! 🙂 I know, I can’t believe how close we are to having a baby! Being pregnant has been so surreal and now that the end is nearing it all seems even more surreal!

  4. Love the colour of our crib. Your timelines really make me think I gotta get on it! Still pending car seat installation and hospital bag packing. I’ve had some insomnia lately too. I find it I just get up and do something, I can go back to sleep when I get tired again.

    • Yeah I’m not fighting it anymore. It helps that I work from home most days now. Just the two days I go into the office, I’m a total wreck! I’m sure this boy isn’t coming early, but I’ve seen too many friends freak out because they had their babies at around 36-37 weeks and weren’t ready. There are still things I’m planning to do when I go on mat leave at 37 weeks, but the car seat bases, hospital bag, and labor affirmations are a must before 36 weeks for me lol!

Leave a Reply

